most popular destination

When Can I Travel In Europe? 7 Countries Open For Summer Tourism

If you’re wondering when you can travel to Europe again, you’ll be glad to know that EU countries are beginning to reopen for tourism in time for summer.

“Not all countries plan to reopen borders to E.U. travelers next week,” reports Euronews. “Spain and Portugal are set to reopen later in June and Denmark is only planning to open borders with Germany, Iceland and Norway.” As with all travel plans right now, make sure you research the regulations for each country before you book anything! Many countries are still advising against non-essential travel.

European countries will also agree on a common list of non-EU countries for which travel restrictions can be lifted as of 1 July. This will be reviewed on a regular basis. This will depend on:

  • The epidemiological situation and coronavirus response in that country
  • The ability to apply containment measures during travel
  • Whether or not that country has lifted travel restrictions towards the EU.

Here’s which countries are opening their borders for international travel in time for the summer holiday season starting July 1st…

Countries in Europe that are Open for Summer Tourism

1. Spain

Spain will open its borders to members of the EU’s Schengen Zone and the UK on June 21st, and will allow other travellers in from July 1st. Anyone arriving to Spain until the end of June must self-quarantine for 14 days. From July, there will be no quarantine rules.

Instagram Menorca
Image: Binibeca Hills

2. Cyprus

From June 9th, tourist arrivals from a limited number of countries will be permitted, but this does not include the UK. Passengers who have been in the UK, or any other destination not listed in categories A or B, in the last 14 days will not be allowed to enter Cyprus. The Cypriot government will reimburse your travel costs if you test positive for Covid-19 after visiting.

3. France

As of June 15th, travellers from most EU countries, EFTA nations (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland), as well as Monaco, San Marino, the Vatican and Andorra, will be free to travel to France. From July 1st, it will open to non-EU countries. Travellers will not have to quarantine.

4. Italy

Italy has been gradually opening its borders to international tourists since June 3rd. EU visitors will not have to quarantine. Those coming from outside the E.U., Schengen area and the U.K. must do 14 days of quarantine unless they’ve been to any other European country in the 14 days before entering Italy. Sicily is offering to subsidise travel for both domestic and international visitors.

Florence, Italy

5. Germany

All border bans will be lifted on June 15th for visitors from the E.U., Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, and the United Kingdom. But, borders in Germany will remain shut for those from outside the E.U. until August 31st.

6. Estonia

Estonia opened its borders to Baltic neighbours on May 15th and to the rest of the EU, the Schengen area, and the UK on June 1st. A two-week self-isolation requirement applies to people arriving in Estonia from Sweden, Portugal, the United Kingdom and Belgium.

7. The Netherlands

Foreign tourists from countries where the health risks are similar to or lower than in the Netherlands are allowed visit. This includes tourists from E.U. and Schengen countries, except for the U.K. and Sweden. You must book a place to stay before coming to the Netherlands. Without valid proof of reservation you may be stopped at the border.

Sarah Clayton-Lea

Co-founder of Big 7 Travel, Sarah created the company through her passion for championing the world's best food and travel experiences. Before her career in digital media, where she previously held roles such as Editor of Food&Wine Ireland, Sarah worked in the hospitality industry in Dublin and New York.

Contact [email protected]

View stories